Tuition Assistance Grant Program

Tuition Assistance Grant Program

Fact Sheet: Tuition Assistance Grant Program

Download printable version of fact sheet VTAG Fact Sheet PDF Format

General Description and Purpose

Established in 1972, the Tuition Assistance Grant Program (VTAG) is designed to assist Virginia residents who attend accredited private, non-profit colleges and universities in Virginia for other than religious training or theological education. The VTAG is authorized in Chapter 4.1 Section 23-38.11 through 18 of the Code of Virginia as the Tuition Assistance Grant Act.

Application Process

Applications may be acquired from the financial aid office of the private institution the student plans to attend. Completed applications must be submitted to the financial aid office of the institution on, or before, July 31 prior to the fall semester of enrollment. Applications submitted after July 31, but no later than December 1, will be considered for an award only if funds are available.


While this document does not cover all of the eligibility requirements, the basic criteria are:
  1. Be a domiciliary resident of Virginia as defined by the Domicile Guidelines and theCode of Virginia ยง23-7.4;
  2. Be enrolled full-time as an undergraduate, graduate, or professional student; and
  3. Be enrolled at an eligible institution pursuing an eligible degree that is not in religious training or theological education.
  4. Beginning in 2009-10, eligible graduate programs are limited to those in a health-related professional program, designated by the 51 series of programs under the NCES Classification of Instructional Programs.

Eligible Institutions

  1. Appalachian College of Pharmacy
  2. Averett University
  3. Bluefield College
  4. Bridgewater College
  5. Christendom College
  6. Eastern Mennonite University
  7. Edward Via Virginia College of Osteopathic Medicine
  8. Emory & Henry College
  9. Ferrum College
  10. George Washington University
  11. Hampden-Sydney College
  12. Hampton University
  13. Hollins University
  14. Jefferson College of Health Sciences
  15. Liberty University
  16. Lynchburg College
  17. Mary Baldwin College
  18. Marymount University
  19. Randolph College
  20. Randolph-Macon College
  21. Regent University
  22. Roanoke College
  23. Shenandoah University
  24. Southern Virginia University
  25. Sweet Briar College
  26. University of Richmond
  27. Virginia Intermont College
  28. Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine
  29. Virginia Union University
  30. Virginia Wesleyan College
  31. Washington & Lee University


The award amount is based on the number of eligible students and the amount of funds appropriated by the General Assembly. Maximum 2013-14 Annual Award:
Undergraduate= $3,100 Graduate= $1,550.


Awards are automatically renewed provided that the student continues to meet eligibility requirements and has not exceeded the maximum number of years of eligibility.


This fact sheet is produced by the SCHEV to provide a general overview of the program.


For additional information, view the VTAG brochure.